NAEPDC - National Adult Education Professional Development Consortium LINCSearch - Search Literacy Information
A natural resource for adult education state directors and their staff members.
Home About
NAEPDC
About
NCSDAE
State Directors State Staff Publications Staff Site Map

Directory of Adult Education State Directors

Alabama
First Name: David
Last Name: Walters
Job Title: State Director
Company: Alabama Community College System, Adult Education and GED Testing Program
Mailing Address: 135 S. Union Street, Room 140
Montgomery, Alabama 36104
Business Phone: (334) 293-4561
Email: David.Walters@accs.edu

Alaska
First Name: Amy
Last Name: Iutzi
Job Title: State ABE/GED Director
Company: Alaska Department of Labor
Mailing Address: Box 115509
Juneau, Alaska 99811-5509
Business Phone: (907) 465-8714
Email: amy.iutzi@alaska.gov

American Samoa
First Name: Tauvela
Last Name: Fale
Job Title: State Director
Company: Samoa Community College
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 2609
Pago Pago, American Samoa 96799-2609
Business Phone: (684) 699-9155
Email: tlfale@yahoo.com

Arizona
First Name: Sheryl
Last Name: Hart
Job Title: Deputy Associate Superintendent
Company: Arizona Department of Education, Adult Education Services
Mailing Address: 1535 West Jefferson St., Bin 36
Phoenix, Arizona 85007
Business Phone: (602) 258-2410
Email: Sheryl.Hart@azed.gov

Arkansas
First Name: Trenia
Last Name: Miles
Job Title: State Director
Company: Department of Career Education, Adult Education
Division
Three Capitol Mall
Luther S. Hardin Building
Little Rock, Arkansas 72201
Business Phone: (501) 683-2341
Email: trenia.miles@arkansas.gov

California
First Name: Carolyn
Last Name: Zachry
Job Title: Administrator, Adult Education Office
Company: California Department of Education, Career and College Transition Division
Mailing Address: 1430 N Street, Suite 4202
Sacramento, California 95814-5901
Business Phone: (916) 322-1849
Email: zachry@cde.ca.gov

Colorado
First Name: Danielle
Last Name: Ongart
Job Title: Executive Director of Adult Education Initiatives
Company: Colorado Department of Education, Office of Adult Education Initiatives
Mailing Address: 201 E. Colfax Avenue, Room 301
Denver, Colorado 80203-1799
Business Phone:
Email:  Ongart_D@cde.state.co.us
                                                                                       
Connecticut
First Name: Susan
Last Name: Pierson
Job Title: Education Consultant
Company: CT Department of Education; Bureau of Health/Nutrition, Family Services and Adult Education, Family Services, and Adult Education
Mailing Address: 25 Industrial Park Rd
Middletown, Connecticut 06457
Business Phone: (860) 807-2121
Email: Susan.pierson@ct.gov

Delaware
First Name: Maureen
Last Name: Whelan
Job Title: Director, Adult Education
Company: Delaware Department of Public Instruction
Mailing Address: 35 Commerce Way, Suite 1, Collette Education Resources Center
Dover, Delaware 19901
Business Phone: (302) 857-3340
Email: maureen.whelan@doe.k12.de.us

District of Columbia
First Name: Michelle
Last Name: Johnson
Job Title: State Director of Adult and Family Education
Company: Office of the State Superintendent of Education
Mailing Address: 51 N Street, N.E.
Washington, District of Columbia 20008
Business Phone: (202) 741-5533
Email: jmichelle.johnson@dc.gov

Florida
First Name: Stefany
Last Name: Deckard
Job Title: Section Director for Adult Education
Company: Florida Department of Education
Mailing Address:  325 W, Gaines Street
Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0400
Business Phone: (850) 245-9906
Email: stefany.deckard@fldoe.org 

Georgia
First Name: Beverly
Last Name: Smith
Job Title: Assistant Commissioner
Company: Office of Adult Education
Mailing Address: 1800 Century Place, NE, Suite 300
Atlanta, Georgia 30345-4303
Business Phone: (404) 679-1635
Email: besmith@tcsg.edu

Guam
First Name: Doris
Last Name: Perez
Job Title: Program Specialist, Planning & Development Office
Company: Guam Community College
Mailing Address: P. O. Box 23069
Main Postal Facility
Mangilao, Guam 96921
Business Phone: +1 (671) 735-5516
Email: doris.perez@guamcc.edu

Hawaii
First Name: Deborah
Last Name: Miyao
Job Title: Educational Specialist
Company: Hawaii Community Education Section
Mailing Address: 475 22nd Ave., Rm. 124
Honolulu, Hawaii 96816
Business Phone: (808) 735-8371 ext. 383
Email: deborah_miyao@notes.k12.hi.us

Idaho
First Name: Cruz
Last Name: Gallegos
Job Title: Idaho Career and Technical Education
Company: Mailing Address:650 West State Street
Boise, Idaho 83705-0095
Business Phone: (208) 334-3216
Email:

Illinois
First Name: Jennifer
Last Name: Foster
Job Title: Associate Vice President for Adult Education and
Workforce Development
Company: Illinois Community College Board
Mailing Address: 401 East Capitol Avenue
Springfield, Illinois 62701
Business Phone: (217) 785-0171
Email: jennifer.foster@illinois.gov

Indiana
First Name: Marilyn
Last Name: Pitzulo
Job Title: State Director
Company: Indiana Workforce Development Agency
Mailing Address: 10 N Senate Ave
Indianapolis, Indiana 46204
Business Phone: (812) 345-5446
Email: MPitzulo@dwd.IN.gov

Iowa
First Name: Alex
Last Name: Harris
Job Title: State Director for Adult Education
Company: Iowa Department of Education; Bureau of Adult, Career, and Community College
Mailing Address: Grimes State Office Building
400 East 14th Street
Des Moines, Iowa 50319-0146
Business Phone: (515) 281-3640
Email: alex.harris@iowa.gov

Kansas           
First Name: Connie
Last Name: Beene
Job Title: Sr. Director, Adult and Career Technical Education
Company: Kansas Board of Regents
Mailing Address: 700 East Fifth Street
Topeka, Kansas 66612-1368
Business Phone: (785) 430-4271
Email: cbeene@ksbor.org

Kentucky
First Name: Reecie
Last Name: Stagnolia
Job Title: State Director & Vice President
Company: Kentucky Adult Education, Council on Postsecondary
Education
Mailing Address: 1024 Capital Center Drive, Suite 250
Frankfort, Kentucky 40601
Business Phone: (502) 573-5114 ext. 124
Email: reecie.stagnolia@ky.gov

Louisiana
First Name: Patricia
Last Name: Felder
Job Title: Executive Director
Company: Louisiana Community and Technical College System
Mailing Address: 265 South Foster Drive
Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70806
Business Phone: (225) 922-2809;  (225) 247-8552
Email: patriciafelder@lctcs.edu

Maine
First Name: Gail
Last Name: Senese
Job Title: State Adult Education Director
Company: Maine Department of Education
Mailing Address: 23 State House Station, 5th Floor
Augusta, Maine 04333-0023
Business Phone: (207) 624-6755
Email: gail.senese@maine.gov

Maryland
First Name: Terry R.
Last Name: Gilleland, Jr.
Job Title: Director of Adult Education & Literacy Services
Company: Division of Workforce Development & Adult Learning, Maryland Department of Labor, Licensing, & Regulation
Mailing Address: 1100 N. Eutaw Street
Baltimore, Maryland 21201
Business Phone: (410) 767-1008
Email: terry.gilleland@maryland.gov

Massachusetts
First Name: Jolanta
Last Name: Conway
Job Title: ABE Administrator, Adult and Community Learning
Services
Company: Massachusetts Department of Education
Mailing Address: 350 Main Street
Malden, Massachusetts 2148
Business Phone: (781) 338-3853
Email: jconway@doe.mass.edu

Michigan
First Name: Krista
Last Name: Johnson
Job Title: Director of Education and Career Success
Company: Michigan Workforce Development Agency
Mailing Address: 201 N. Washington Square
Lansing, Michigan 48913
Business Phone: (517) 335-5858
Email: johnsonk2@michigan.gov

Minnesota
First Name: Todd
Last Name: Wagner
Job Title: Director, Adult Basic Education
Company: Minnesota Department of Education
Mailing Address: 1500 Highway 36 West
Roseville, Minnesota 55113-4266
Business Phone: (651) 582-8442
Email: todd.wagner@state.mn.us

Mississippi
First Name: Sandy
Last Name: Crist            
Job Title: Director of Adult Education & High School Equivalency
Company: Mississippi Community College Board, Education and Research Center
Mailing Address: 3825 Ridgewood Road
Jackson, Mississippi 39211
Business Phone: (601) 432-6440
Email: scrist@mccb.edu

Missouri
First Name: Elaine
Last Name: Bryan
Job Title: Director, Adult Education and Literacy
Company: Department of Elementary/Secondary Education
Mailing Address: 205 Jefferson St.,
P. O. Box 480
Jefferson City, Missouri 65102-0480
Business Phone: (573) 526-4823
Email: elaine.bryan@dese.mo.gov

Montana
First Name: Katie
Last Name: Spalinger
Job Title: Adult Education State Director
Company: Montana Office of Public Instruction
Mailing Address: 1300 11th Ave.
P.O. Box 202501
Helena, Montana 59620-2501
Business Phone: (406) 444-4433
Email: Katie.Spalinger@mt.gov 

Nebraska
First Name: Tate
Last Name: Lauer
Job Title: Adult Education Director
Company: Nebraska Department of Education
Mailing Address: 301 Centennial Mall South
P. O. Box 94987
Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-4987
Business Phone: (402) 471-4807
Email: Tate.Lauer@nebraska.gov

Nevada
First Name: Nancy
Last Name: Olson
Company: Nevada Department of Education
Mailing Address: 700 East Fifth Street
Carson City, Nevada 89701
Email: nolsen@doe.nv.gov

New Hampshire
First Name: Art
Last Name: Ellison
Job Title: Administrator
Company: New Hampshire Department of Education, Bureau of Adult Education, Division of Adult Learning and Rehabilitation
Mailing Address: 21 South Fruit Street, Suite 21, Concord, New Hampshire 3301
Business Phone: (603) 271-6698
Email: aellison@ed.state.nh.us

New Jersey
First Name: Howard
Last Name: Miller
Job Title: Chief
Company: New Jersey Department of Labor & Workforce Development, Office of Customized & Literacy Training
Mailing Address:
John Fitch Plaza
P.O. Box 915 – 7th Floor
Trenton, New Jersey 08625
Business Phone: (609) 984-4437
Email: Howard.Miller@dol.state.nj.us

New Mexico
First Name: Frances
Last Name: Bannowsky
Job Title: New Mexico State Director of Adult Basic Education
Company: New Mexico Higher Education Department, Adult Education Division
Mailing Address:
2048 Galisteo Street
Santa Fe, New Mexico 87505-2100
Business Phone: (505) 476-6537
Email: frances.bannowsky@state.nm.us

New York
First Name: Robert
Last Name: Purga
Company: New York State Education Department, Adult Education and Workforce Development
Mailing Address:                                                                                                        
89 Washington Avenue
Albany, New York 12234
Business Phone: (518) 474-8940
Email: rpurga@mail.nysed.gov

North Carolina
First Name: Gilda
Last Name: Rubio-Festa
Job Title: Associate Vice President College and Career
Readiness             
Company: NC Community College System, Workforce Continuing Education
Mailing Address:
5016 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-5016
Business Phone: (919) 807-7132
Email: rubio-festag@nccommunitycolleges.edu

North Dakota
First Name: Valerie
Last Name: Fischer
Job Title: State Director
Company: North Dakota Department of Public Instruction
Mailing Address: 600 East Boulevard Avenue
State Capitol Building, 9th Floor
Bismarck, North Dakota 58505-0440
Business Phone: (701) 328-4138
Email: vfischer@nd.gov

Northern Marianas
First Name: Lorraine
Last Name: Maui
Job Title: ABE Director/Dean, Community Programs and Services
Company: Northern Marianas College
Mailing Address: PO Box 50250 As Teraje Campus
Saipan, Northern Marianas 96950
Business Phone: +1 (670) 234-5498 x 6708
Email: lorraine.maui@marianas.edu

Ohio
First Name: Donna
Last Name: Albanese
Job Title: State Director, Aspire Ohio Adult Readiness Education
Company: Ohio Board of Higher Education
Mailing Address: 25 S. Front Street
Columbus, Ohio 43215
Business Phone: (614) 466-6204
Email: Dalbanese@highered.ohio.gov

Oklahoma
First Name: Jared
Last Name: Bates
Job Title: Federal Programs Manager
Company: Oklahoma Department of Career and Technology
Education
Mailing Address: 1500 W. 7th Ave.
Stillwater, Oklahoma 74074-4364
Business Phone: (405) 743-5569
Email: jared.bates@careertech.ok.gov

Oregon
First Name: Susan
Last Name: Fish
Job Title: Adult Basic Skills Director
Company: State of Oregon Higher Education Coordinating Commission, Office of Community Colleges and Workforce Development
Mailing Address: 255 Capitol Street NE
Salem, Oregon 97310-1341
Business Phone: (503) 947-2423
Email: Susan.Fish@hecc.oregon.gov

Palau
First Name: Imengel
Last Name: Mad
Job Title: Acting Director/Education Specialist
Company: Ministry of Education
Mailing Address: P. O. Box 189
Koror, Palau 96940
Business Phone: (680) 488-2811 ext. 280
Email: imengelmad@palaumoe.net

Pennsylvania
First Name: Amanda
Last Name: Harrison
Job Title: Director for Adult Education
Company: Pennsylvania Department of Education, Bureau of Postsecondary and Adult Education
Mailing Address: 333 Market Street
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania 17126
Business Phone: (717) 787-4313
Email: aharrison@pa.gov

Puerto Rico
First Name: Wanda O.
Last Name: Cabrera
Job Title: Auxiliary Secretary
Company: Puerto Rico Department of Education
Mailing Address: Urbanización Tres Monjitas
150 Federico Costas St.
Hato Rey, P.R. 00919
P.O.Box 190759
San Juan, Puerto Rico 00919-0759
Business Phone: (787) 773-3451
Email: cabreratw@de.pr.gov
*Needs Letter to Confirm

Rhode Island
First Name: Philip
Last Name: Less
Job Title: Administrator, Adult Basic Education and GED
Programs
Company: Rhode Island Department of Elementary and
Secondary Education, Office of Multiple Pathways
Mailing Address: 255 Westminster Street
Providence, Rhode Island 02903-3400
Business Phone: (401) 222-8949
Email: Philip.Less@ride.ri.gov

South Carolina
First Name: Michael
Last Name: King
Job Title: State Director
Company: South Carolina Department of Education
Mailing Address: 906-D Rutledge Building
429 Senate Street
Columbia, South Carolina 29201
Business Phone: (803) 734-8300
Email: mrking@ed.sc.gov

South Dakota
First Name: John
Last Name: Anderson
Job Title: Adult Education and Literacy Program Administrator
Company: South Dakota Department of Labor and Regulations
Mailing Address: 811 East 10th Street
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Business Phone: (605) 367-5300  ext. 1801369
Email:  john.anderson@state.sd.us

Tennessee
First Name: Franklin “Dee”
Last Name: Johnson
Job Title: Administrator
Company: Division of Adult Education
Mailing Address: Dept. of Labor & Workforce Development
220 French Landing Drive
Nashville, Tennessee 37243
Business Phone: (615) 714-7054
Email: franklin.d.johnson@tn.gov

Texas

First Name: Anson
Last Name: Green
Job Title: State Director
Company: Texas Workforce
Commission, Adult Education and Literacy
Mailing Address:
101E. 15th Street Room 416t
Austin, Texas 78778
Business Phone: (512) 463-7419
Email: anson.green@twc.state.tx.us

Utah
First Name: Brian
Last Name: Olmstead
Job Title: Director, Adult Education Services
Company: Utah State Office of Education
Mailing Address: 250 East 500 South
P. O. Box 144200
Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-4200
Business Phone:  (801) 538-7500 for information
Email:  Brian.Olmstead@schools.utah.gov

Vermont
First Name: Robin
Last Name: Castle
Job Title: AEL State Director
Company: Vermont Agency of Education
Mailing Address: 219 North Main Street, Suite 102
Barre, Vermont 05641
Business Phone: (802) 479-1279
Email: Robin.Castle@vermont.gov

Virgin Islands
First Name: Nancy
Last Name: Callwood
Job Title: State Director
Company: Virgin Islands Department of Education, Vocational, Career, Technical, and Adult
Education
Mailing Address: 1834 Kongens Gade, Charlotte Amalie
St. Thomas, Virgin Islands 00802-6746
Business Phone: (340) 776-3484
Email: ncallwood@sttj.k12.vi

Virginia
First Name: Heidi
Last Name: Silver-Pacuilla
Job Title: Director, Office of Career, Technical, and Adult
Education
Company: Virginia Department of Education
Mailing Address: 101 N. 14th Street
James Monroe Building, 21st Floor
Richmond, VA 23219
Business Phone: (804) 225-2051
Email:  Heidi.Silver-Paciulla@doe.virginia.gov

Washington
First Name: Jon
Last Name: Kerr
Job Title: Director, Adult Basic Education
Company: State Board for Community and Technical Colleges
Mailing Address: 1300 Quince St, SE
P. O. Box 42495
Olympia, Washington 98504-2495
Business Phone: (360) 704-4326
Email: jkerr@sbctc.edu

West Virginia
First Name: Mendy
Last Name: Marshall
Job Title: Administrator
Company: West Virginia Department of Education, Adult Education and Workforce Development
Mailing Address:  Building 6, Room 230
1900 Kanawha Blvd., E.
Charleston, West Virginia 25305-0330
Business Phone: (304) 558-0280
Email: mamarsha@k12.wv.us

Wisconsin
First Name: Lisa
Last Name: Hebgen
Job Title: Associate Vice President
Company: Wisconsin Technical College System
Mailing Address: 4622 University Avenue
P.O. Box 7874
Madison, Wisconsin 53707-7874
Business Phone: (608) 266-3738
Email: lisa.hebgen@wtcsystem.edu

Wyoming
First Name: Marcia
Last Name: Hess
Job Title: Adult Basic Education Program Manager
Company: Wyoming Commission on Community Colleges
Mailing Address: 2300 Capital Ave, 5th Floor, Suite B
Cheyenne, Wyoming 82002
Business Phone: (307) 777-7885
Email: marcia.hess@wyo.gov

Hit Counter