NAEPDC - National Adult Education Professional Development Consortium LINCSearch - Search Literacy Information
A natural resource for adult education state directors and their staff members.
Home About
NAEPDC
About
NCSDAE
State Directors State Staff Publications Staff Site Map

 

State Directors by Region  
Area I
Eastern
Area II
Southern
Area III
Midwestern
Area IV
Western
Connecticut
Delaware
Washington, D.C.
Maine
Maryland
Massachusetts
New Hampshire
New Jersey
New York
Pennsylvania
Puerto Rico
Rhode Island
Vermont
Virgin Islands
Alabama
Arkansas
Florida
Georgia
Kentucky
Louisiana
Mississippi
North Carolina
Oklahoma
South Carolina
Tennessee
Texas
Virginia
West Virginia
Illinois
Indiana
Iowa
Kansas
Michigan
Minnesota
Missouri
Nebraska
North Dakota
Ohio
South Dakota
Wisconsin
Alaska
Arizona
California
Colorado
Hawaii
Idaho
Montana
Nevada
New Mexico
Oregon
Utah
Washington
Wyoming
American Samoa
No. Mariana Islands
Guam
Date Last Update: 11-10-14

Alabama
David Walters
Alabama Department of Postsecondary Education
135 South Union Street

Room 140
Montgomery, AL 36104-4340
Phone: (334) 293-4561
Fax: (334) 293-4565
E-mail:david.walters@dpe.edu   
Web site:  http://www.acs.cc.al.us

 

Alaska 
Ms. Amy Iutzi
ABE/GED State Director
Employment Security Division

Department of Labor and Workforce Development
PO Box 115509
Juneau, AK 99811-5509
Phone:  (907) 465-8714
Fax:  (907) 465-4186
E-mail:  amy.iutzi@alaska.gov
Web site:  http://labor.state.ak.us/esd/home.htm

Arizona 
Ms. Sheryl Hart
State Director of Adult Education Services
1535 West Jefferson Street, Bin 26
Phoenix, AZ 85007
Phone: (602) 364-2777
Fax: (602) 258-4986
E-mail: Sheryl.hart@azed.gov
Web site:  http://www.azed.gov/adultedservices/

Arkansas
Mr. Jim Smith
State Director
Department of Workforce Education
Luther S. Hardin Building, #3 Capitol Mall
Little Rock, AR 72201-1083
Phone: (501) 682-1970
Fax: (501) 682-1706
E-mail: jim.smith@arkansas.gov
Web site: http://dwe.arkansas.gov/adult.html

California

Patricia Terry
Director of Adult Education
California State Department of Education
1430 N Street, Suite 4503
Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: (916) 322-2175
Fax: (916) 327-7089
E-mail:pterry@cde.ca.gov
Web sites:  http://www.cde.ca.gov/sp/ae/

Colorado
Margret Kirkpatrick
State Director
Adult Education and Family Literacy Services
Center for at-Risk Education
201 East Colfax Avenue, Room 400
Denver, CO 80203
Phone: (303) 866-6640
Fax: (303) 866-6599
E-mail: kirkpatrick_m@cde.state.co.us  
Web Site:
http://www.cde.state.co.us/index_adult.htm

Connecticut 
Susan Pierson     
Chief, Bureau of Career and Adult Education
Bureau of Early Childhood, Career and Adult Education
Division of Teaching and Learning Programs and Services
25 Industrial Park Road
Middletown, CT 06457-1543
Phone: (860) 807-2050
Fax: (860) 807-2062
E-mail:Susan.Pierson@ct.gov
Web site:  http://www.state.ct.us/sde/deps/adult/index.htm

Delaware
Ms. Maureen Whelan
State Director of Adult Education
Delaware Department of Education
John W. Collete Education Resource Center
35 Commerce Way - Suite 1
Dover, DE 19904
Phone: (302) 857-3342
Fax: (302) 739-1770
E-mail: mwhelan@doe.k12.de.us
Website: http://www.doe.k12.de.us/services/guide/adulted.shtml  

District of Columbia
Ms. J. Michelle Johnson, State Director
Adult and Family Education
Office of the State Superintendent of Education
Division of Education Excellence
51 N Street NE, Seventh Floor
Washington, DC 20002
Phone: (202) 741-5531
Fax: (202) 741-0229
Email: jmichelle.johnson@dc.gov
Website: http://osse.dc.gov/seo/cwp/view,a,1222,q,561753,seoNav,|31195|.asp

Florida
Zelda Rogers
Division of Workforce Education
Florida Department of Education
325 West Gaines Street, Suite 734
Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0400
Telephone: (850) 245-9906
FAX: (850) 245-9065
E-mail: zelda.rogers@fldoe.org
Web site: 
http://www.firn.edu/doe/bin00051/adult_ed.htm

Georgia
Beverly E. Smith, M.Ed.
Assistant Commissioner Office of Adult Education
Technical College System of Georgia
1800 Century Place NE ~ Suite 300
Atlanta, Georgia 30345
Phone: 404-679-1635
Fax: 404-679-1634
E-Mail: besmith@tcsg.edu
Website: http://literacy.myweb.uga.edu

Dr. Josephine Reed-Taylor
Deputy Commissioner
Department of Technical and Adult Education
1800 Century Place, NE ~ Suite 300
Atlanta, GA 30345-4304 
Phone: (404) 679-1600
Fax: (404) 327-6932
E-mail: jreed-taylor@dtae.org
Web site:   http://literacy.myweb.uga.edu

Hawaii
Deborah Miyao, Acting Director for Adult Basic Education
State of Hawaii Department of Education
Office of Curriculum, Instruction, and Student Support/Community Education
475 22nd Avenue, Room 202
Honolulu, HI. 96816
Phone: (808) 203-5511 ext. 2120
Fax: (808) 733-9154
E-mail:deborah_miyao@notes.k12.hi.us
Website: http://www.doe.k12.hi.us/ 

Idaho
Amelia Valasek
ABE/GED Director
Division of Professional-Technical Education
P.O. Box 83720
Boise, Idaho 83720-0095
Phone: (208) 334-3216
Fax: (208) 334-2365
E-mail:Amelia.Valasek@PTE.IDAHO.GOV
Website:  http://www.pte.idaho.gov/ABE/Home.html

Illinois
Ms. Jennifer Foster
Senior Director
Community College Board
401 East Capitol Avenue
Springfield, Illinois  62701-1711
Phone: (217) 785-0171
Fax: (217) 558-6700
Email:  jfoster@iccb.state.il.us
Website:   http://www.iccb.state.il.us/HTML/adulted/adulted.html

Indiana
Marie Mackintosh
Senior Director of Adult Education
Department of Education & Department of Workforce Development
10 N. Senate Avenue
Indianapolis, IN 46204
Direct: 317.233.6720
Email:
Website: http://www.in.gov/dwd/adulted.htm

Iowa
Mr. Alex Harris
State Director of Adult Education
Iowa Department of Education
Grimes State Office Building
Des Moines, IA 50319-0146
Phone: (515) 281-3640
Fax: (515) 281-6544
E-mail:alex.harris@iowa.gov
Web site: http://www.iowa.gov/educate/

Kansas
Ms. Susan Fish
State Director of Adult Education
Kansas Board of Regents
1000 Southwest Jackson
Suite 520
Topeka, KS  66612
Phone:  (785) -296-7159
Fax:  (785) 296-0983
E-mail: sfish@ksbor.org
Web site: 
http://www.kansasregents.org/adult_ed/about.html

Kentucky

Mr. Reecie Stagnolia

Associate Vice President
Council on Postsecondary Education
1024 Capital Center Drive
Suite 250
Frankfort, KY  40601
Phone: (502) 573-5114 ext. 124
Fax: (502) 573-5436
E-mail:  reecie.stagnolia@ky.gov
Web site: 
http://adulted.state.ky.us

 

Louisiana 

Sean Martin Division of Family, Career and Technical Education
Louisiana Department of Education

1201 North 3rd Street, Claiborne Bldg.

Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70802

Phone:  (225) 342-3336

Fax:  (225) 219-4439

Email: seanmartin@lctcs.edu

Web site: http://www.doe.state.la.us/DOE/asps/home.asp?I=ADULT

Raye Nell Spillman,
Coordinator WorkReady U,
Adult Education and GED Testing
Louisiana Community and Technical College System
265 South Foster Drive
Baton Rouge, LA 70806
Telephone: 225.308.4393
Email: rspillman@lctcs.edu

 

Maine
Gail Senese
State Director Adult and Family Literacy
Maine Department of Education
23 State House Station
Augusta, ME  04333
Phone:  (207) 624-6755
Fax:  (207) 624-6651
Email:Gail.senese@maine.gov
Web:  http://www.maine.gov/education/aded/dev

 

Maryland
Ms. Patricia Tyler
Deputy Assistant Secretary for Adult Education
Division of Workforce Development and Adult Learning
Maryland Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation
1100 North Eutaw Street, Room 120
Baltimore, MD 21201
Phone: (410) 767-1008
Fax: (410) 333-2099
E-mail: ptyler@dllr.state.md.us
Web site:  www.gogedgp.org

 

Massachusetts

Jolanta Conway
ABE State Director
Adult and Community Learning Services
75 Pleasant St. Street
Malden, MA 02148
Phone: (781) 338-3853
Fax: (781) 338-3394
E-mail: jconway@doe.mass.edu
Website:  http://www.doe.mass.edu/acls/

 

Michigan
Ms. Dianne Duthie
Director
Adult Education Services
Michigan Department of Career Development
PO Box 30714
Lansing, MI  48909
Telephone:  (517) 373-3430
Fax:  (517) 335-3630
Email: duthied@michigan.gov
Web site: http://www.michigan.gov/mdcd/1,1607,7-122-1680_2798---,00.html

 

Minnesota 
Todd Wagner, Supervisor
Adult Basic Education
Minnesota Department of Education
1500 Highway 36 West
Roseville, MN 55113-4266
Phone: (651) 582-8442
Fax: (651) 634-5154
E-mail:todd.wagner@state.mn.us
Web site:  http://mnabe.themlc.org/

Mississippi 
Ms. Eloise Richardson
Director of Adult Literacy
Division of Adult Education
State Board for Community/Junior Colleges
3825 Ridgewood Road
Jackson, MS 39211
Phone: (601) 432-6687
Fax: (601) 432-6365
E-Mail: eloisejr@sbcjc.cc.ms.us
Web site: 
http://www.sbcjc.cc.ms.us/progs.html

Missouri 
Mr. Ronald Jewell
State Director of Adult Education
Department of Elementary and Secondary Education
205 Jefferson Road
P.O. Box 480
Jefferson City, MO 65102
Phone: (573) 526-4822
Fax: (573) 526-5710
E-mail: 
ron.jewell@dese.mo.gov 
Web site:  http://www.ael.mo.gov

Montana 
Ms. Margaret Bowles
Adult Basic and Literacy Specialist
Montana Office of Public Instruction
PO Box 202501
1300 11th Avenue
Helena, MT  59620-2501
Phone: (406) 444-4443
Fax: (406) 444-1373
E-mail: mbowles@mt.gov
Web site:  http://www.nwlincs.org/mtlincs/index.htm


Nebraska 
Ms. Vicki Bauer
Director, Adult and Community Education
Nebraska Department of Education
301 Centennial Mall South
P.O. Box 94987
Lincoln, NE 68509
Phone: (402) 471-4807
Fax: (402) 471-8127
E-mail:  vicki.l.bauer@nebraska.gov

Website:  http://www.education.ne.gov/ADED/home.htm


Nevada 
Mr. Brad Deeds
Adult Education Director & State GED Administrator
Nevada Department of Education
755 North Roop St., Suite 201
Carson City, NV 89701
Phone: (775) 687-7289
Fax: (775) 687-8636
E-mail: bdeeds@doe.nv.gov
Websites: www.nevadaadulteducation.org
http://www.facebook.com/NevadaAdultEd
http://www.twitter.com/NevadaAdultEd  

New Hampshire 
Mr. Art Ellison
Administrator
Bureau of Adult Education
New Hampshire Department of Education
21 South Fruit Street, Suite #20
Concord, NH 03301
Phone: (603) 271-6698
Fax: (603) 271-3454
E-mail:Arthur.Ellison@doe.nh.gov
Web site:  http://www.nhadulted.org/


New Jersey
 
Elease Greene-Smith
Supervisor
New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development
Adult Education and Literacy Services
POB 915, Seventh Floor
Trenton, NJ 08625-0055
Phone: 609-633-9827
Fax: 609-984-3562
E-mail: elease.greene-smith@dol.state.nj.us
Web site: http://lwd.dol.state.nj.us/labor/wfprep/edtrain/content/wrl_index.html


 New Mexico
Frances Bannowsky
Director, Adult Basic Education
New Mexico Higher Education Department
1068 Cerrillos Road
Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone: (505) 476-8437
Fax: (505) 476-6558
E-mail: frances.bannowsky@state.nm.us   
Website: http://hed.state.nm.us 

 

New York
Robert Purga
Adult Family and Workforce Development
New York State Education Department
89 Washington Ave., Education Building, Room 307EB
Albany, NY 12234
Phone: (518) 474-8940
Fax: (518) 486-1751
E-mail:Robert.Purga@nysed.gov
Web site:  http://www.emsc.nysed.gov/aewd/

North Carolina 
Dr. Randy Whitfield
Associate Vice President of Academic and Student Services
Basic Skills Department
North Carolina Community College System
5016 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-5016
Phone: (919) 807-7132
Fax: (919) 807-7164
E-mail: whitfieldR@nccommunitycolleges.edu
Web site: http://www.ncccs.cc.nc.us/Basic_Skills/index.html

North Dakota 
Ms. Val Fischer
Director
Adult Education and Family Literacy
ND Department of Public Instruction
600 East Blvd.
Bismarck, ND 58505-0440
Phone: 701-328-4138

Fax: 701-328-4770
E-mail:  vfischer@nd.gov
Web site:  http://www.dpi.state.nd.us/adulted/index.shtm 

Ohio 
Mr. Jeffrey C. Gove
State ABLE Director
University System of Ohio
Ohio Board of Regents
30 East Broad Street, 36th Floor
Columbus, OH  43215
Phone: (614) 752-1642
Fax: (614) 466-5866
E-mail: jgove@regents.state.oh.us
Web site:  http://www.regents.ohio.gov
Oklahoma 
Pam Blundell
Executive Director, Lifelong Learning
Adult Education Section
State Department of Education
Oliver Hodge Memorial Education Building
2500 North Lincoln Boulevard - Room 115
Oklahoma City, OK 73105-4599
Phone: (405) 521-3321
Fax: (405) 521-6205
E-mail: Pam.Blundell@sde.ok.gov
Web site: http://sde.state.ok.us/Programs/LifelongLearn/AdultEd.html

Oregon
David P. Moore
Adult Basic Education State Director
Department of Community Colleges and Workforce Development
255 Capitol Street NE/PSB
Salem, OR 97310
(503) 378-8648 ext. 375
(503) 378-3365 fax
Email:david.p.moore@state.or.us
Web site: http://www.oregon.gov/CCWD/ABE/index.shtml

Pennsylvania

Jill Hans
State Director
Bureau of Adult Basic and Literacy Education
Department of Education
333 Market Street, 12th Floor
Harrisburg, PA 17126-0333
Phone: (717) 772-3737
Fax: (717) 783-0583
E-mail:jhans@pa.gov
Web site:
http://www.portal.state.pa.us/portal/server.pt/community/adult_basic_and_literacy_education_(able)/8703



Rhode Island
Dr. Philip Less
Administrator, Adult Basic Education and GED Programs
Office of Multiple Pathways
RI Department of Elementary and Secondary Education
255 Westminster Street
Providence, RI 02903
401.222.8949
401.222.4979 (fax)
philip.less@ride.ri.gov
Web site:http://www.ride.ri.gov  

South Carolina 

Dr. David Stout
State Director
Director, Office of Community Education
Department of Education
Rutledge Building, Room 906
1429 Senate Street
Columbia, SC 29201
Phone: (803) 734-8071
Fax: (803) 734-5685
E-mail: dstout@sde.state.sc.us
Web site: http://www.myscschools.com/offices/ace/

South Dakota 

Marcia Hultman  Marcia.Hultman@state.sd.us
John Anderson (john.anderson@state.sd.us)
Barb Unruh (barb.unruh@state.sd.us)

South Dakota Department of Labor
700 Governors Drive
Pierre, SD 57501-2291
Phone: (605) 773-3101
Fax: (605) 773-6184
E-mail:
Web site: http://www.sdjobs.org

Tennessee  
Marva Doremus
Administrator
Division of Adult Education
Tennessee Department of Labor and Workforce Development
220 French Landing Drive
Nashville, TN 37243
Phone: (615) 741-7054
Fax: (615) 532-4899
E-mail:Marva.Doremus@tn.gov
Web site:  http://www.state.tn.us/labor-wfd/AE/

Texas
Anson Green State Director, Adult Education and Literacy
Texas Workforce Commission
512-463-7419
Text/Cell: 512-348-5874
101E. 15th Street, Room 416t
Austin, Texas 78778
Email: anson.green@twc.state.tx.us

http://www.twc.state.tx.us/svcs/adultlit/adult-basic-education.html

Utah  
Ms. Marty Kelly
Alternative, Adult Education and GED Testing Services Coordinator
Utah State Office of Education
250 East 500 South
PO Box 144200
Salt Lake City, UT 144200
Phone: (801) 538-7824
Fax: (801) 538-7882
Email:  marty.kelly@schools.utah.gov
Web site: http://schools.utah.gov/adulted


Vermont  
Frank Gerdeman
Director of Adult Education
Vermont Department of Education
120 State Street
Montpelier, VT 05602
Phone: 802-828-0554
Fax: (802) 828-3146
E-mail: Frank.Gerdeman@state.vt.us
Web Site: http://www.education.vt.gov/

Virginia 
Dr. Susan M. Clair
State Director
Adult Education and Literacy
Virginia Department of Education
101 North 14th Street
James Monroe Building, 21st Floor
Richmond, VA  23219-2120
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 2120
Richmond, VA  23218-2120

Telephone: 804-786-3347
Fax: (804) 225-3352
E-mail:Susan.Clair@doe.virginia.gov
Web site:  http://www.doe.virginia.gov/instruction/adulted/index.shtml

Washington
Jon Kerr
Director 
Adult Basic Education Office
State Board for Community and Technical Colleges
1300 Quince Street SE
Olympia, WA 98504-2495
Phone:  (360) 704-4326
Fax: (360) 704-4419
E-mail jkerr@sbcet.edu
Web site:  http://www.sbctc.ctc.edu/college/e_abe.aspx

West Virginia 
Mr. Barry Kelly
Director 
Office of Adult Education and Workforce Development
Building 6, Room 230
1900 Kanawha Boulevard East
Charleston, WV 25305-0330
Phone:  (304) 558-0280
Fax: (304) 558-3946
E-mail:   bkelly@access.k12.wv.us
Web site:  http://wvde.state.wv.us/abe/

Wisconsin  
Ms. Willa Panzer
State Director
Office of Student Development and Assessment
Wisconsin Technical College System Office
4622 University Avenue
Madison, WI 53707-7874
Phone: (608) 267-9065
Fax: (608) 266-1690
E-mail: willa.panzer@wtcsystem.edu
Web site: http://www.witechcolleges.org/abe.htm

Wyoming 
Ms. Marcia Hess
ABE State Director
Wyoming Community College Commission
2300 Capitol Ave., 5th Floor, Suite B
Cheyenne, WY 82002
Phone: (307) 777-7885
Fax: (307) 777-6567
E-mail:
mhess@commission.wcc.edu
Web site: http://www.communitycolleges.wy.edu

American Samoa 
Ms. Fa’au’uga Achica
State Director of Adult Education
P.O. Box 2609
Pago Pago, American Samoa 96799
Phone: (684) 699-1582
Fax: (684) 699-8793
Email:  fslachica@yahoo.com

Northern Mariana Islands 
Ms. Fe Y. Calixterio
Director, Adult Basic Education
Northern Marianas College
Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands
PO Box 501250 - As Teriaje Campus
Saipan, Mariana Islands 96950
Phone: (670) 234-5498 Ext. #1723
Fax: (670) 235-4940
E-mail: fec@nmcnet.edu

Virgin Islands 
Mr. Eduardo Corneiro
State Director, Vocational-Technical, and Adult
Education
Department of Education
1834 Kongens Gade
St. Thomas, Virgin Islands 00801
Phone: (340)776-3484
Fax: (340) 776-3488
Email: ejcorneiro@doe.vi

Puerto Rico 
Licely Falcon
State Director of Adult Education
Department of Education
P.O. Box 9696
Caguas, Puerto Rico 00726
Phone: (787) 759-2000 X 2592
Fax: (787) 758-6898
Email: sanchez_no@de.gobierno.pr

Guam  *
Mary A. Y. Okada, Ed.D.
President/State , Director of Adult
   and Vocational Education
Guam Community College
P.O. Box 23069
GFM, Guam 96921
Phone: (671) 735-5700
Fax: (671) 734-1003
E-mail: mary.okada@guamcc.edu

 

 

 

 


Contact us: Dr. Lennox McLendon, Executive Director; 444 North Capitol Street, NW; Suite 422; Washington, DC 20001
Phone: 202-624-5250; Fax: 202-624-1497; Email: lmclendon@naepdc.org

Hit Counter